Some people get into debt by buying things they don’t need and can’t afford. What are the reasons for this behavior? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today's world, we live in societies that are based on materialism. As a result, some people face problems while dealing with their budget. Eventually, many lands in debts. It is undeniable that many individuals face financial issues because they buy things that are not required or those that are not within their budget. Firstly, many people face debt issues due to consumptive lifestyle. Also, with easy accessibility to various shopping site through mobile applications, the demand for luxurious products have increased. Nowadays, with most of the purchases being made online, the payment mode is generally through debit or credit cards. Furthermore, most nation places their orders unaware of their bank balance. For example, a study was conducted to compare the sales of mobile phones through the online portal Amazon and retail stores. It was revealed that about 50% of the orders were returned back at the time of delivery. Thus, out of about 100 customers, 45 returned the product due to inadequate funds. However, a few measures should be taken to prevent the side effects of this dangerous habit. The most essential step would be by being well informed of one's saving and knowing how to manage his/her budget. Moreover, people should know to differentiate between necessity and pleasure. Keeping records of income and monthly expenditure can be highly beneficial. Nevertheless, to nip the problem at its bud it is important to educate the youth. To illustrate, in my school, students from the tender age of 10 years were educated to think practically and critically while making purchases. Hence, the main aim of this exercise was to caution the youngsters about the mesmerizing and dazzling yet false image portrayed through commercial. In conclusion, presently, the chances of becoming a victim of consumer society are high. The temptation surrounding the population is not just problematic but can also lead to financial and mental deterioration. Therefore, being conscious of the after-effects and having a rational attitude will help while dealing with money.