Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both there views and give your opinion.

Recruitment programs are always challenged by the responsibility to choose the right candidate for a company. The interview is an important step to get to know the future employee, and often personal information is asked with this intent. While some people agree with this procedure, others might think it is irrelevant. In my opinion, it is not only crucial for fairness, but it also needs deep attention. On the one hand, asking for personal information may help to learn if the candidate has a matching profile with the company’s culture. Often, a successful team is made of consistency and commitment from everyone involved. For instance, for a company that sells healthy products and values health care, it is highly relevant that its employees believe and act on those same attitudes in their daily life. At the other hand, the same approach might be interpreted as an invasion of privacy and only serves to discriminate. This situation is even more complicated when the required personal information has no influence over the work tasks and violates human rights. As an example of that is when companies ask about the candidate’s sexual orientation. Therefore, bosses and colleagues should not know someone’s preferences, unless they have a prejudice against them. However, from my point of view, hobbies and interests are always interesting to know when inviting someone to be part of a group. It requires a responsible recruitment program to look for those that would most appreciate the workplace and would fit in its guidelines. All participants in a team should feel respected and welcomed, and different perspectives must add and not divide. Nevertheless, good qualifications and experiences come first, to offer good performance and achieve the companies’ goals. In conclusion, it should not be forbidden to ask for personal information during interviews. Although, they must never overstep the respect for others and be used as a misguided judgement of the candidates’ profile.