In many countries the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

In recent years, the opulation has been a topic of heated debate. It is true that the population of old people is exponentially growing as compared to the population of young people. This essay will discuss the issues that the country has to face and steps that can be taken to reduce the ratio of old people. First and foremost, if there are more old individuals in a country that means the government has to spend more money from their pocket in the form of free healthcare that every citizen has access to. Secondly, this will reduce the tax revenue for the government as most of the old indviduals do not prefer to work. In addition, no new company would like to set up their production plants or manufacturing units in a country which does not have adequate human resources as most of the factories are nearly impossible to run without people working in them. Several steps can be taken to reduce the ratio of old people. Immigration is one the methods some countries can adopt to bring young talented people into their country. To illustrate, Canada and Australia are two countries that have proved that immigration is helpful not only in increasing the number of young people but also in improving the economy of the country. Furthermore, preference can be given to people with children when hiring for government jobs. Moreover, Free schooling and pocket money for children can also be introduced so that people get encouraged to have children and should not have fear of their child’s financial burden. To sum up, having more percentage of old individuals is a serious concern for countries and measures such as immigration, free schooling and some form of preference in government jobs can be taken to encourage individuals to have more children.