In today’s job market it is far more important to have practical skills than theoretical knowledge. In the future, job applicants may not need any formal qualifications. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the increasing competitiveness in the professional field demands perfection in education as well as the experience. While many opine that the recruiters nowadays look for the practical abilities of the candidate rather than their education and this will subsequently diminish the need of professional degrees in the future, I totally disagree with this opinion. In this essay, we will discuss a few reasons to understand why formal education is as imperative as practical skills. To begin with, almost all the practical skills are the outcome of education. That is to say, a person can perform their task successfully only if they have some prior knowledge about the process. Moreover, having a formal qualification in a respective job facilitates the possibility of performing the work in an expected manner. For example, the performance of a manager will be average if they only work on basis of the practical knowledge they have gained, however, a considerable rise in the productivity can be observed if they also possess a managerial degree along with experience. Furthermore, the existence of professional education helps in defining the job role in a precise manner. In other words, the educational qualification required to fulfil a job can provide a clear idea to the human resource department for recruiting the right talent for the role. For instance, job vacancies in the field of information technology can never be fulfilled by any random candidate as the role demands specific knowledge in that particular stream and, only those candidates who hold a degree in information technology can be suitable for the job. To summarize, owning a professional qualification in a corporate set up is essential as it compliments the practical skills by not only ensuring the completion of the work in a correct and efficient manner but in guiding the HR for allocating the task to the right employs.