Because of the global economy, many goods including what we use as daily basics produced by other counties have to be transported for a long distance. To what extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is common to see that numerous products we consume on a regular basis are produced overseas. This situation has both negative and positive sides. That being said, this essay will examine the advantages and disadvantages of this modern trend and explain why I believe that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks. On the one hand, producing goods overseas has some remarkable disadvantages. First, the products take longer to arrive at the destination country. As a result, it is possible that some goods lack the shelves of supermarkets and stores. Second, some items are damaged during transportation and, therefore, are lost, diminishing companies' revenue. Nevertheless, there are some clear advantages that will be pinpointed in this paragraph. Usually, those items made overseas are less expensive than those produced locally. This is because big companies choose countries where the workforce is cheaper. For example, Nike produces all their shoes in Vietnan, while Apple produces its electronics in China. As the cost of production is low, it is possible to sell their goods at an aggressive price. Although it takes longer to arrive at the destination country, consumers tend to prefer to wait more and pay less for their products. In addition, mass production help enormously poorer countries to generate jobs and tackle poverty, and consumers react positively when they are aware of that. To sum up, it is a fact that items produced internationally take longer to arrive and some may be damaged. However, the advantages aforementioned outweigh the disadvantages since consumers want to pay less for their furnishings and support the development of poor countries.