It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion. What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

It cannot be gainsaid that children need to understand the difference between right and wrong attitudes and habits right from when they are still very little. A lot of people say that metting out punishments on their youngsters enable them to learn this but my opinion on this is contradictory. This essay will explore the reasons why and also talk about alternative methods of discipline. First off, I will say that while punishing kids gives the desired results of teaching them what's good and what's bad, it affects them negatively and these effects are not worth that lesson. I am against punishing minors because it makes them afraid of their parents and professors. This fear causes them to draw into themselves and for youngsters who need all the positive influence they can get, that can be detrimental to their upbringing. Secondly, I disagree is that there are other ways for adolescents to learn right from wrong. When a young person does something bad, their mothers, fathers and teachers need to make them understand why said thing should not be done. Effective communication helps the boys and girls see why they were wrong and also helps the adult understand what led to that particular poor behaviour. Oftentimes, there are underlying reasons and they are not just acting up. Solving those underlying issues fixes the root of the problem. To take it a step further, care-givers and teachers can withdraw certain benefits, for example,games, visiting privileges etc., this goes a long way to curb bad behaviour. In conclusion, I disagree with the school of thought that says punishments are necessary to make a distinction between good and bad behaviours. Instead, talking about why they have done a certain thing deemed wrong is a better way to handle it. Also, when kids know that things they love will be taken away from them for a little while if they do something wrong, it will act as a deterrent for wrongdoings.