People have different views on how to reduce traffic congestion. Some think that governments should build more train and subway lines, while others think that building more and wider roads will reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In modern society, there is a heated debate about the best way to decrease traffic jam on roads in megacities. While many people believe that the best solution is to offer citizens public transport, others of thought are that construction more and larger roads will help to deal with traffic jam at peak times. In this essay, I will delve into both opinions and give my support. On the one hand, citizens prefer to use public transport to commute on daily basis for the following main reasons. More train and underground lines could function to cope with traffic congestion because people would reduce the use of private cars and tend to travel by public transport with the purpose of saving money as well as protecting air condition. For example, in Beijing, Chinese people improved national atmosphere through the awareness of decreasing gas emission from private cars and focusing on the use of public transport every time. On the other hand, several people insist that traffic jam would be lessened by building and opening roads. It is commonly acknowledged that traffic congestion usually occurs during the commuting time and this method may be more efficient to provide convenient stress for people in some specific periods, such as between 7 am to 8 am in the morning. Besides, it can create a feeling of happiness for travellers due to preventing from getting caught in the rush hour traffic. All in all, both methods would be good for citizens in peak hours. However, from my observation, providing public transport may be the best solution to tackle traffic congestion and good for our planet.