Nowadays many people have access to computers and a large number of children enjoy playing video games. What are the advantages and disadvantages of playing video games for children?

In the recent years, various sectors have thrived, including technology which has developed vigorously. As a result, computers are now easily accessible to everyone, even children are not exempt of it. Many of them spend many hours playing video games either alone or online with peers. Unsurprisingly,the question of whether this trend is serving any good or comes with disadvantages has been subject of many debates. Looking at the positive aspects, using computers to play video games can in fact be helpful, because kids tend to perform better in terms of cognitive skills, and they do come up with more sophisticated solutions oncwhent hey solve problems. In addition to this, gamers are more skillful in practical life, for example those who are obsessed with racing games are learning much quicker in driving lessons and are involved in fewer car accidents. On the contrary, this popular behavior among kids can negatively impact them, because frequent and repetitive behaviors can develop into habits, which eventually may lead to addiction and in consequence alter and ruin their social life, provided that up to date studies confirm kids addicted with gaming are more at risk of developing some sort of anti-social personality traits. Furthermore, there are certain games which can motivate children to vandalise, commit crimes, and get involved in violence, which may unintentionally replicate harmful actions within siblings and mates, causing serious harm. In conclusion, video games, like many other common trends nowadays, can be a source of improving one’s abilities; or on the opposite, damage their life. That is why maintaining a balanced schedule is crucial in ensuring the safety of the technology.