The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the trend in online shopping is gaining great popularity due to the advancement in technology which may eventually lead to the shutting down of several local shops in towns and cities. In my opinion, this is going to happen soon, and, in this essay, I will discuss why I feel this trend may lead to the closing down of many shops. The internet has made our lives much easier by giving us access to do shopping in the comfort of our homes. There are plenty of shopping websites and applications available on the internet providing a wide range of products to choose from. In fact, a person does not need to walk around looking for things like in a shop, and instead, just has to scroll through different online pages to make a choice. In addition, online shopping is much favoured during this current situation of the pandemic where it is advisable to stay at home to be safe. People need not interact or come in contact with others to buy groceries or any other items due to the availability of online shopping apps. Furthermore, many online shopping sites offer great deals that are not given by local shops. For example, websites like amazon and flip kart conduct big billion sales annually where a number of electronic appliances are sold at extremely low prices that would never be offered in the markets. Moreover, people can save time by not standing in long queues to make payment for the things they buy. As there are many payment gateways available, people can easily pay online and get the items delivered to their homes. In conclusion, online shopping has totally transformed our shopping experience by offering great deals on a variety of products which we can choose from the comfort of our homes. This is slowly going to overtake the concept of people going to shops, gradually leading to its shut down.