Many countries spend a lot of money in the arts. Some people think investment in the arts Is necessary, but others say money is better spent on public services and facilities. Discuss Both views and give your own opinion.

There is a large amount of money that is invested into arts by many countries. Some people strongly advocate that the money spent in art is necessary, while others dispute that the government funds should be invested on public services and facilities. From my perspective, government may consider the needs of the city before arriving at a funding decision. Firstly, the funding for art is supported by people who believe that art might make urban life interesting and rewarding. Compared with a concrete jungle city, Artistic creations are able to reduce the boredom of living in a city. The public place will become more visually attractive due to the artwork. For example, Three-dimensional painting can draw ordinary streets into three-dimensional, like polar ice deep, so that pedestrians walking on the street have the feeling of walking on the ice. Especially for the youths, they might be more satisfied with it. Also, people can visit art galleries and attend art exhibitions to reduce the monotony of daily life. Secondly, other people consider it necessary to spend money on public services because it is indispensable to the daily lives of public. For example, the funding can be invested in the construction of public hospitals, which can provide the public with free physical examination. And also, they can receive treatment as soon as possible if they are diagnosed with some conditions. What’s more, money can be spent on food science and technology, which may offer people a wider range of food options and tackle famine by increasing food yields. Based on the major factors above, I believe that government which invests money whether in the arts or public services both have a significant impact on society. Nevertheless, the decision which are made by governments may depends on the stage of development of a city. If the decision is wrong, it will hinder the development of the city. For cities with poor facilities, the investment in any form of art is not likely to maintain a basic standard of living. Likewise, for the cities which are relatively prosperous and well-developed, without artworks, the city life could be dull. To summarize, investment in art can make a city more attractive. The money which spends on services and facilities have positive impact on the wellbeing of the general public. However, the decision making might take into account the needs of the city.