Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others Disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Few topics have drawn as much scholarly attention as employers asking personal information of job applicants, especially for the past few years. A few people argue that collecting personal information such as hobbies, interests and marital status is necessary, while others think that such kind of information is unnecessary for giving jobs. I am of the opinion that collecting some personal information is useful to analyse the job applicant. In order to see why the former outdo the latter, we need to look at both sides of the debate. Primarily, by asking for some personal information like interests and hobbies, an employer can understand the potential employee's personality. Besides, some hobbies and interests will help to improve cognitive skills which will be a great asset for task accomplishment at the workplace. Furthermore, with the information of the employee's marital status, employers can give a suitable job for a particular employee because the marital status will affect the commitment to work. For instance, recruiting a married person for any kind of that demands a lot of travelling will doesn't work. Thanks to the information collected, employers can assign the right person to the right job. Admittedly, it is true that seeking sensitive personal information is not necessary for some kind of jobs. On one hand, that information is useful to recruit a suitable employee. On the other, that personal information might be misused by employees. Few employers use the information about the relationship status and interests of an employee for their personal gains. Although some jobs only demand basic physical work that no need to collect any kind of personal information, asking for some personal information can make a healthy relationship between employer and employee. For example, giving a job to a completely unknown applicant based on only his academic qualifications might not work all the time. In conclusion, from what has been discussed above, one can conclude that despite some concerns, the role of asking for some personal information in recruiting the right person as well as work accomplishment is instrumental indeed.