Many businesses choose to recruit from within their own company rather than sourcing staff from overseas. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The mode of engaging new employees varies between companies. Some absorb existing manpower while others prefer to bring in staff that reside outside their geographical location. I however believe that the disadvantages outnumber the advantages. Moreover, both will be analyzed The main advantage of sourcing for staff abroad, rather than native ones, is the broader perspective these new recruits bring to the table. When people are brought in from a different place to a company, it can foster innovation due to the external set of eyes which can go a long way to boost company growth. For example, Microsoft, a foremost technology company, cites their biggest strength as its diverse team members. Furthermore, the possession of unique skillsets is another reason for choosing external persons for a job position. Certain talents such as programming, web development require people of specialized knowledge, and sometimes the availability of such people around the immediate environment is sparse. Hence, increasing the need to consider such specialists for recruitment. The disadvantages of this trend are multifarious. Firstly, it is very expensive to engage the services of one that is far away. Logistics, salaries can be a burden to a start-up company. Secondly, the quality of foreign employees sometimes is not top-notch. Furthermore, with proper training, in-house employees will perform better specifically because of the experience they already possess due to many years working for the company. Finally, the experience that in-house staff have due to working for their employers make them unique assets for more advanced positions such as managers or administrators. To conclude, when new eyes are brought on board from foreign lands, they offer a unique experience and sometimes rare talents. However, I believe that the resources used for the recruitment of these expatriates can otherwise be invested in training the existing human capital that will input more insights into the organization.