Some people argue that space exploration has had more to do with national pride than international effort. To what extent do you agree with? How do you think space exploration will change in the future? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

The second half of the XX century was marked by the start of the space exploration for all of humanity. Leading countries started to launch their first satellites, each in their own way. However, despite the minor display of competition, international collaborations have started to play a greater role over time and will continue in the coming decades. To begin with, there was no concept as “international co-operation” until the end of the twentieth century. There were no such diplomatic relations between the countries as now. The start of the space exploration coincided with “Cold war”, political hostility between USA and USSR. For several years, the two superpowers had been competing in developing space technology and regarded this section of science as a race. They did not focused on working together; all each side wanted was defeating the other. Moreover, rivalry is a human quality, so the leaders have it too. In contrast, the role of international partnership increased within the opportunities it gives in the last years. The role of astronaut has been replaced by many kinds of smart robots and artificial intelligence. What the majority of countries realized was that it is no use always trying to be first. The universe is unlimited. Joining forces and resources, the only way to explore it is. In future, space exploration will enable other countries to use capabilities of developed stations by providing unique contributions. According these, space exploration will turn into valuable cause for national investment. Overall, space exploration is likely to be a primary sector of international cooperation in future with the main purpose of research and profit; however, due to natural competition, establishing space programs independently will be continued.