In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Other believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Effective transport infrastructure has always been an essential part of any nation. However, people often disagree on which modes of transport deserve further government funding. Some claim that governments should commit vast amounts of money to build a high-speed rail network, whereas others claim that it would be better to invest in the current public transport system. While both arguments have their merits, one view is clearly more valid than the other. Those who advocate for investment in high-speed rail claim that it would benefit businesses as it would allow them to deliver their products more efficiently. For example, if a car import company transported their vehicles by high-speed rail, they would be able to expedite deliveries. Not only would this make them more competitive but it would also allow them to import greater numbers in a shorter space of time and thus increase their profits. Additionally, a high-speed rail network would encourage tourists to visit a country. As many people have limited free-time, they often choose a destination where they can see as much as possible as quickly as possible so a country with a high-speed rail system would attract more tourists. This in turn would improve a country’s tourism industry and strengthen its economy. On the other hand, there are sound arguments for investing in the current public transport system. To begin, improving public transport would have a positive impact on the environment. This is because people would be more likely to use buses and subways if they were cleaner, more reliable, and served more areas. As a result, they would be less inclined to use their cars, which produce far more CO2 per passenger. Another argument for improving conventional forms of public transport is that it would benefit a larger proportion of the population. I myself use public transport daily to commute to work, shop for groceries, or even just to get around town but rarely make long distance journeys which would need a high-speed train. On top of this, tickets for high-speed rail services are generally very expensive and are therefore considered an unaffordable luxury. In summary, governments should invest in the current public transport system given the positive impact it would have on people’s lives. While those who support the development of high-speed rail have valid arguments, they focus on economic factors only without taking the needs of the public into consideration. Moreover, if governments did commit to building a high-speed rail system, it would be an unfair use of tax money as it would only benefit a small segment of society.