the pace of business and technology is steadily increasing, suggesting that people need to not only keep up, but to stay ahead of the competition if they want to survive and succeed. This is a great source of stress for many people. what are some ways people can relieve this stress while remaining competitive in the workplace?

The modern workplace has become very demanding, with people constantly challenged to work harder and learn things faster in order to maintain an edge over their peers. Unsurprisingly, many workers suffer immense stress from this. I believe, however, that people can mitigate this stress by exercising more and having some "alone time ". Sports are a great way to release pent-up energy while engaging in friendly, skill-building competition. This physical activity allows one to relieve stress in a focused way while honing skills such as strategizing, teamwork, and perseverance, all of which can be applied toward one's career. Baseball, for instance, involves running and throwing, actions that utilize muscles that are otherwise dormant while sitting in an office chair. It also encourages cooperation with teammates, quite unlike the politics and competition one might face at the office. A person who can thus manage his stress can then apply these tools at work to feel relaxed and be productive. That being said, being continually surrounded by others can also be stressful. A good way to escape the pressures of social interaction is to take some time for oneself. A person can read, go for a walk, or spend quality time with family. Doing this allows the mind to ease the tension accumulated all week. For example, if a person spent time with family, he would be more relaxed. Furthermore, a person can concentrate on his personal obligations rather than focus solely on the companies. Ultimately, a person content with his own life will be a much greater help to his employer. In conclusion, a happy and satisfied person will better contribute to work because he can focus on his job and not feel pressured all the time. He will not only have an easier life, but he will also be more likely to succeed in his career.