Nowadays not enough students choose science subjects in universities in many countries .What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society?

In recent times, many undergraduates prefer art and commerce over science stream for graduation. This essay will explore the two main reasons addressing this issue and the probable outcome affecting the community. To commence with, the chief cause for why this switch has geared exclusively towards non- science subjects is the cost-efficiency along with the more income. This is to say that a science course in university demands a heavy fee-structure which sometimes does not guarantee a job that offers a lucrative salary. An engineer, for instance, graduates by investing double the cost to that spent by an art student, however, both are likely to receive the same pay-scale in their respective fields. Furthermore, there is a low-rate competition in other fields while compared to a this stream in the market, also there is no specific requirement for skilled knowledge as required by a professional position. Thus, it enables more employment for students after pursuing a degree in a different field instead. Nevertheless, despite more educated youngsters graduating annually in various area of study, the shortage of science graduates may impact negatively society. This is because if fewer students are choosing science at university than there might be a noticeable decrease in healthcare professionals and engineers. As a consequence, medical facilities and technological advances will suffer which is directly proportional to the development of a nation. Therefore, high-cost treatments and poor infrastructure may result due to the lack of such subject-specific freshers to make it worst for people to survive in this world. In conclusion, although many students are refusing to choose science as a major subject, the contribution of these graduates to the development of society is crucial. Hence, the government should attempt to make the science stream more appealing by increasing employment opportunities and in terms of pay.