Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, recruiters check personal information like leisure time activities, marital status and liking of the candidates. Few individuals believe that this information is irrelevant but many others have a different opinion. This essay will enunciate upon both the views before reaching an appropriate conclusion. On the one hand, intimate data of the employee before joining is vital for the employer. Firstly, it gives an insight into the candidature's stability. For example, if the applicant is married and owns a house nearby to the office, its very unlikely that the candidate will change the job in a short span of time. Secondly, private data of the candidate will help the employers in analyzing his attitude towards life and most importantly about his nature. Individual's past time activities reveal about his team-leading skills. For instance, a recent survey outcome revealed that the managers in various organizations have a common trait of doing captaincy in team games like cricket, football etc. On the other hand, sometimes sharing private info leads to misjudgment and security breach as well. One reason, candidates with lower castes are rejected even before they are interviewed. Such as, many Hindu owners of the company reject Muslim candidate applications. Another reason, many people feel that there private and confidential information will be misused. Many companies gather this data and sell them in the open market. To illustrate this, one of the leading multiple national companies was imposed with a heft fine for circulating his employee personal data to the financial institution. To sum up, there are some shortfalls in revealing personal data with the employer. However, I opine that the personal data of the candidate shows the compatibility and his attitude which is far more important for a recruiter before hiring them. Moreover, the candidate should be wise enough to share only information that can be discussed publicly and not confidential.