MODERN FORMS OF COMMUNICATIO SUCH AS EMAIL AND MESSAGING HAVE REDUCED THE AMOUNG OF TIME PEOPLE SPEND SEEING THEIR FRIENDS. THIS HAS HAD A NEGATIVE EFFECT IN THEIR SOCIAL LIFE.

In the present time, more and more people are utilizing wireless communication such as emails and messaging to minimize the time needed to meet their peers. This has greatly affected their social life in a bad way, to which I partially agree. I believe using this kind of communication help saves time, however, it can also affect how people mingle with each other personally.  Sending virtual messages has reduced the time needed to meet friends. Instead of spending a lot of time seeing with their peers in a restaurant to talk, they can just catch up through online portals and exchange chats or emails. In this way, they can exchange chats conveniently in the comforts of their home or to wherever they may be. More so, people can still do their jobs or chores while chatting. It does not just save time, it also enables multitasking. However, because of the advent of modern communication, a lot of individuals now choose to make friends online. In result, most of them tend to just stay inside their houses and use their phones or computers all day long. The age group most affected by this trend are the teenagers. They use social networking sites to chat with people instead of going outside mingling or shopping with their friends. In the long run, this might negatively affect how they engage properly to other people personally.  I think it has caused good and bad effects on people's social life. In my experience, I use emails to inform my workmates about recent news and updates regarding our task because this is the fastest way to reach them, but in this kind of communication, my skills in engaging in a constructive discussion with my peers is not well exercised. To conclude, modern communication affects people ’s social life both positively and negatively. It just depends on how people use this kind of communication in their daily lives.