Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

It has been argued by some section of the society that university students should study as per their liking. However, other individuals emphasize learning futuristic subjects. This essay will enunciate upon the ideas of both views before reaching an appropriate conclusion. On the one hand, college-goers should opt for the subjects as per their liking. Firstly, every individual has different capabilities and based on this understanding, a career option should be planned. For example, usually, scientist chooses the subject for research based on their comfort zone and not because of the scope of the discipline in the future. Secondly, the wards will achieve immense success and will be out of the cat race, if they plan the future working in their niche areas. These people will enjoy their studies and work, which is of prime importance. Such as one of my friends, despite being pushed to study science, opted for Finance and now with the Ministry of Finance as a Chief Secretary. Furthermore, it will be a loss to the country in terms of development in other areas. Nations will eventually produce graduates only from one discipline, which will directly impact the skill shortage in other departments. On the other hand, learning futuristic subjects can only secure the future. The student will not be baffled about his career and will always feel safe. From the beginning of the career, a person will have a clear goal and only needs to work in the right direction to reach the destination. For instance, high school pass outs enrol for IT engineering because they are sure about the growth of the IT industry and hence, feels secure for their career. To sum up, undoubtedly, choosing the subjects that have a bright future will help the individual with linear growth. However, I am of the view one should swim opposite the stream and work in the direction based upon individual interest. This will help to build the nations with skill diversity and eventually exponential growth of the individual.