1. While recruiting a new employee, the employer should pay more attention to their personal qualities, rather than qualifications and experience. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion and include relevant examples.

In recent years the discussion about the qualification of people employed has become fundamental. There are many people who think that personality traits are more important than skills and professional experience. I completely agree with this statement and in this essay, I will support my view with examples. One disadvantage of choosing employees based on their technical skills and previous practice is that those characteristics can be easily learnt. This is because there are a number of institutions that teach the technical aspect of any profession and provide experience in the form of internships. For example, if a person wanted to become an engineer, they could enrol in a college to learn the basis of the activities developed by engineers and then find employment within the profession, but that wouldn’t prepare them to be empathic in their work environment. As a consequence, by focusing on the formal qualifications of a worker, a company is foregoing an aspect that will have an impact on its results. On the other hand, studies have shown that collaborators with desired individual traits are fundamental for organizations to achieve their goals. The reason for this is that characteristics such as creativity and flexibility are more difficult to form in comparison with specialized knowledge. To illustrate, in the company where I work in the last four years new employees are chosen mostly by the soft skills they show. As a result there has been an increase in the production and income of the enterprise which has helped its expansion. In conclusion, although some businesses (?) base their selection system on hard skills and employment records, that is not the best option. In my opinion, personal qualities are an essential factor for companies to reach their objectives.