In number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway line for very fast trains between cities. Others believe that money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both the views and give your opinion. 3795421818

In recent times, some people believe that a huge amount of money should be dedicated to the construction of a new railway line. While others think that, public funds should be spent on improving existing transportation. It is agreed that the focus should be on enhancing the current transport system. On one hand, construction of a new railway line would be very beneficial to the public even though it would take a long time to finish. For example, building a rail system requires adequate planning, huge financial commitment and also the use of competent engineers. The financial implications of a major project like this, can cripple the treasury of a nation because, a project of this capacity requires a consistent number of years to plan before the actual building process begins. Therefore this can have negative effects on the budget which may likely affect other areas of the economy. On the other hand, continued investment into existing public transportation is a more realistic approach because it would make the daily lives of the public easier. For instance, if huge sums of money are used to buy more buses with state of the art facilities like; air conditioning, with the addition of the internet, and computerised payment options, moving from one place to another would become considerably easier yet comfortable. Therefore, this would be beneficial to the public and it would be highly appreciated. Finally, in my opinion, the options which are investing in a new railway line or channeling those funds into improving already existing transport are both valid although I prefer the latter because I think that a new railway line would take years to accomplish, this in turn causes delayed gratification but in contrast, the improvement of the current transportation system is a realistic and more feasible approach because people can start benefiting from it immediately. In conclusion, a new railway line would require lots of money and years to accomplish therefore, wasting the resources that could be channeled into making the lives of the public easier is unnecessary. After thorough analysis on this subject, I predict that investing public funds into making improvements of existing transportation is more beneficial.