Some film companies spend millions of dollars on the production of a single movie. Is it necessary to spend a lot of money to make a good movie? What factors contribute to the success of a movie?

There is a debate about spending money on the making of the movies, and some believe that the huge funds should be spent to produce the films and; others believe that movies must be produced economically. In my opinion, I think that the idea and the acting of the cast are far more important factors to make a blockbuster movie, rather than money. Spending a fortune to make an excellent movie is not needed at all. There are a lot of low budget movies which have done tremendous business on in the box office. Agreed, that movies which need to be shot in a foreign country, or require famous cast, might require significant funds to produce, but this does not classify them, as good. In 2019, a low budget, locally produced movie 'Saving Faces’ won the most prestigious award, Oscar. In fact, if we see the list of Oscar winning movies, most of these movies were, produced economically. The theme of the movie and the acting of the cast are the most relevant factors to make a blockbuster movie. Idea of the movie brings audience to the theatre. The simplest ideas, sometimes, proven to be, the huge success. Consider the idea of behind the movie, ‘The Slumdog Millionaire, the most simple, yet the most memorable. The movie was shot in a slump slums of the Mumbai, the plot was so powerful, that it topped the ratings charts. In addition to the idea, acting is what makes the movie come alive. Some characters are played in so powerful way that the audience considers them, real. To conclude, an expensive movie might not prove to be a hit, if the theme of the movie and the acting of the actors/actresses could not bring the audience to the cinemas.