Many university graduates cannot find a job in their chosen profession. What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, should be done about it. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many students start their graduation course with a lot of passion for their chosen career. However, they end up in a job that is outside of their choice. In my opinion, the Lack of adequate opportunities in their profession is the reason for this situation. Even if few opportunities exist,The remuneration for them is not on par with the Industry and other disciplines. Universities should offer only relevant courses that have the potential to cater to the market’s requirement. Hiring has been enormous for computers and electronics engineering graduates in the last three decades due to technological advancements in those areas. on the other hand, It is low for other engineering disciplines but the number of students passing out each year is uniform across all the groups. For instance, Computers, electronics, mechanical, and civil engineering groups had the same number of seats in my college. The excess supply and lesser demand resulted in inadequate opportunities for those belonging to these fields. Another reason is the considerable variance in remuneration across these functions. For example, Global companies hire computer sciences and electronic graduates. They receive high salaries due to different benchmarks adopted by multinational companies. In contrast, local firms employ mechanical and civil engineering graduates paying relatively lower wages. Universities should review the quota of seats based on the market conditions and change them from time to time in consultation with industry leaders and the Government. They should also modify the course contents periodically to make them relevant to future needs. The Government should amend labour laws and policies to ensure wages meet minimum standards and are uniform across all professions preventing switches across disciplines only for monetary benefits. In conclusion, Students fail to pursue their passion in the chosen profession beyond university study into Jobs due to demand and compensation issues. Industry leaders and University management should make the necessary changes to course offerings and their contents. Also, the Government should amend laws to standardize wages and provide tax incentives to lesser paid jobs.