Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society?

In recent times, undergraduates do not study science courses in institutions in a lot of countries. This is because they find the subjects difficult and the implication is that the society will have poor research base. One of the reasons why students do not choose science subjects in the university is because they consider it as being difficult. This is because these undergraduates do not understand the subjects as they are being taught. For example, Organic Chemistry is one of the most difficult subjects in Chemistry and a large number of students prefer to do other courses than attempting it. The effect it will have on the society is that there will be poor research base. That is, the country and its citizens will lack efficient researchers who can discover cure for diseases. For instance, Nigeria has not been able to discover a cure for any disease because they do not have skilled researchers. In conclusion, undergraduates do not study science courses because they find it difficult. The implication of this is that the society would lack proficient researchers who could discover cure for diseases.