Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximise chances of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it has been told that the increase of university fees and small opportunity to get jobs happened because of the art courses, such as philosophy and history, that have not good implication in the future. Therefore, some people say that it should only give degrees to such practical programs, so that, the chances of getting the job could rise. So, in this essay, I would like to explain the reasons why I disagree with that belief as well as provide a plausible conclusion regarding that matter. First of all, it is clear that all kinds of subjects taught at the universities are useful, even though, they can not be compared each by each. The main reason is that every subject gives us different views to solve problems. As a result, it can help us to think in an efficient way which is really needed later in life. For instance, the philosophy subject gives us knowledge about how to understand the underlying reasons about the occurrence of something, then, when we work as HRD, it is easier for us to give the understanding for staff that have a problem at work compared to others than only give them the simple reason without any conclusive explanation. Hence, even we can not feel the benefit right now, it does not mean that it is useless. Secondly, since there are a wide variety of subjects at the university, we have to understand that each one has its own pressure, but the existence of art subjects may be used as entertainment after demanding subjects. In doing so, we can lower the burden that the students have, and it also reduces the chance of committing suicide that largely happened in college students. Based on my knowledge, for example, about 25% of students in Japan suffer from school-burden and they do suicide because of the demands and pressures at the college. Thus, art subjects can play a big role in maintaining pupils' mental health. In a nutshell, a wide range of courses at the university may help us to improve the way we think altogether give us a chance to develop some soft skills. So, in the end, I would reiterate my belief that the statement made by some people in this earlier essay is not for me.