Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays lots of questions related to personal interests and hobbies are being asked to a lot of candidates in an interview. There is a view that having these discussions helps in judging the personal traits of a person while others believe that questions should be strictly professional and related to work. In my,opinion asking about some degree of personal information always helps an employer in judging whether the candidate is a right fit for the particular job but technical aspects and discussions should always take a front seat. The type of questions being asked in an interview depends on what an employer is looking for in a person. For example, if the potential candidate applying for a role of a financial analyst, is interested in the stock market and has a hobby of trading in the market, can actually help the cause of the candidate. Sometimes there are questions pertaining to the marital status or location of a particular applicant. These queries do help the interviewer to access how comfortable an employee would be working for that firm. For,example if a candidate is married and his/her spouse works in a different location, there would obviously be an inclination to get a job in the same location. In another,view discussions should majorly stick to professional questions relating to the work experience and technical expertise of an applicant. Whether the candidate is fit for the current role or not will be evident from the past work experience and the knowledge he/she has on that particular subject. In conclusion, probing the applicant’s personal information can be useful only if it is done within a certain limit and should have some motive to access the candidate in terms of his suitability to the particular role but more emphasis should be given on the professional and technical questions.