Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays lots of questions related to personal interests and hobbies are being asked to a lot of candidates in an interview. There is a view that having these discussions helps in judging the personal traits of a person while others believe that questions should be strictly professional and related to work. Although, I agree with the view that asking about some degree of personal information always helps an employer in judging whether the candidate is a right fit for the particular job yet there should be certain boundaries to what type of personal information is being gathered. The type of discussion depends on what an employer is looking for in a person. For instance, if the position is of a team lead or a people manager, the candidate should have a prior personal experience of handling people and should have an interest in managerial activities. In addition there are questions pertaining to the marital status of a particular applicant. These queries do help the interviewer to access how comfortable an employee would be working for that firm. In a situation where a candidate is married and his/her spouse works in a different location, there would obviously be an inclination to get a job in the same location. However, in some cases the personal information can be misused by the employers or can be used as a tool to discriminate among candidates. For instance, there are cases where political preferences or difference in ideologies between interviewer and interviewee has led to rejections. In conclusion, probing an applicant’s personal information can be useful only if it is done within a certain limit and should have some motive to access the candidate’s suitability to the particular role but should not be the sole criteria for rejecting or selecting an aspirant.