There are many female students who finish degrees in science and technology courses at university, but few move into the workplace after they graduate. Why is this? What measures can be taken to encourage them into work? Situation

These days the discussion about the participation of women in scientific and technological careers is a need. In this essay, I will explore some of the problems associated with the lack of female contribution in these types of professions and propose some solutions. One problem associated with this situation is discrimination during the selection process of the workforce. This happens because when reviewing applications, recruiters tend to evaluate male candidacy better than female ones. For example, studies have shown that, in those fields, when examining the professional credentials of prospective labourers without any information on their gender, women tend to have an improved rating in comparison with scenarios where the sex of the applicant is previously known. A possible solution to this would be to choose blindly the candidates. As a consequence, the number of women working in technical positions would increase. In addition, another problem associated with this conjuncture is related to sexism in the work environment. Historically, scientific jobs have been associated with masculine prevalence and as a consequence when a woman is employed in careers related to that field she has to operate in a hostile climate. For instance, when having only male coworkers a woman is subjected to gendered affirmations made by her colleagues. As a solution, companies should develop compliance programs to avert that kind of conduct. The result of this would be the creation of a favourable work atmosphere for female employees. To sum up, while feminine participation in professions in technical and scientific areas is lacking, it is possible to increase their participation. In my opinion, companies should tackle this issue by considering some of the solutions proposed above.