The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

Obesity is increasing over a few decades now, in western countries. Even with many warnings from specialists in the health and nutrition domain, we are unable to curb it. I would like to go over potential reasons and their consequences over the next few paragraphs and discuss how it's all dependent on or lifestyle and why it's important to pay attention to it. What is obesity? It is the excessive mass that a person gains, as opposed to what one's body mass index should be. Which is calculated and based on the average height, age, gender and sometimes origins of the person. One of the main causes of excessive weight gain is junk food. Starting in the early 19th century in western cultures, fast food such as grab and go burgers, fries and coke at a very low cost became an easy and affordable way for the working class to have their meals. The franchises which provided such kind of food are widely spread and are open round the clock, even today. However, these kinds of dishes would have very high calorific value, causing weight gain more than what one's BMI should be. Another important cause of the overweight pattern in the western world is the dormant lifestyle. Not everyone is an athlete or a sportsperson to have a rigorous exercise regime, but people should have some form of regular physical activity to maintain a healthy lifestyle and to maintain expected weight. Despite knowing it, most people won't pay attention to fitness. Be it because of hectic work schedules or just because of laziness, an average human is undermining the long term side effects of such lethargic yet stressful life. In addition to this, the change in the way we play games and have fun exacerbated the issue. While the previous generation looked out of playgrounds and picnic spots for sports and entertainment, millennial's ended up being couch potatoes: playing online games and binge-watching Netflix shows. Every action would have a reaction. Even increasing average weights among masses had and continued to have serious repercussions. Blood pressure fluctuations, increased bad cholesterol levels, diabetes, heart attacks are a few ailments that stand on the top of the list. The more recent trend is liposuction; the fast and easy way to reduce weight and look in good shape. It's pathetic to see today's youth being ready to have surgery to cut out the fat from their body rather than make responsible lifestyle choices and changes. If this continues, chances are good that the average lifespan of people would come down in the next few centuries or decades. In conclusion, having an unhealthy diet and a lazy lifestyle are the major causes of the overweight trend in western countries. And if careful thought to our eating and work out choices isn't given, the problem would only amplify.