Advances in science and technology have made great changes to the lives of ordinary  people, but artists such as musicians, painters and writers are still highly valued. What can  the arts tell us about life that science and technology cannot?

It is undeniable that technological and scientific developments have tremendously benefited people’s lives in various ways. However, the craft still wins the credit of filling us with insights and values that intelligence has failed to.  It is incontrovertible that technology has had a profound impact on all life aspects by introducing humankind to constant ground-breaking discoveries and inventions. In other words, skill serves as an indispensable means to impart insights regarding how the world operates with its branches ranging from physics, chemistry, and biology to astronomy. Even though, this particular field of study does not seem to fully satisfy people’s boundless curiosity about other domains such as social matters or cultural and traditional values, while articrafts prove to convey such ideas effectively.  Artworks reflect and inform us about the cultural and traditional traits of a certain region. Journey to the West, one of the four outstanding classical novels of Chinese literature, is a remarkable example when it comes to conveying long-established Taoist and Buddhist philosophy as well as Chinese religious beliefs. These matters can hardly be discussed within the realm of wisdom. Furthermore, artworks can be used as historical evidence to teach history. Via their paintings, artists can represent major historical periods and create strong impressions about certain events on art admirers. For instance, Guernica, probably the most famous work by Pablo Picasso, succeeded in depicting the tragedy of war and the sufferings people had to incur after the Nazi’s bombing of Guernica during the Spanish Civil War.  In conclusion, carvings are of great significance when it comes to expanding people’s horizons in various subjects, an aspect which most sciences and technologies fail to do.