The planets population is reaching unsustainable levels and people are facing shortage of resources like water, food and fuel. To what consequences may over population lead? In your opinion what measures can be taken to fight over population

In recent times, the total number of people in the world has been increasing on a daily basis, leading to several problems like environmental pollution, unemployment and scarcity of essential human needs which include air, water and food. However, there are various ways to tackle population explosion. This essay will discuss the effect of overpopulation and profer solutions to it. One major impact of an increasing population is environmental pollution. As the percentage of humans increases, their activities are also on the rise. Majority of persons own a car today and drive it on a daily basis and so fumes from exhaust pipes of these cars pollutes the atmosphere adding to global warming. Also, waste generated from the vast majority of individuals are dumped on illegal sites, the water bodies are not left out as well, as they are also turned to dumping sites. Due to this, both land and water are contaminated, risking the lives of humans and sea creatures. For instance, there was an outbreak of disease in the southern part of Nigeria few years ago, and it was traced to the source of drinking water which was a highly contaminated River. Futhermore, there is also an increasing number of unemployed persons as the world resources is no more enough to cater for the employment needs of individuals. Turning to possible solutions, firstly, I think the government should make laws that prohibits large family sizes by pegging the number of children at three and should ensure that these laws are implemented. China, for example had enacted such law years back when they experienced population growth and it has gone a long way in tackling the issue. If various countries of the world should adopt this measure, it will help solve the problem. In addition, individuals should also play their own part, by making use of various safe family planning methods made available, as some of them like intra uterine contraceptive devices, have proven to be effective. In conclusion, although, overpopulation has brought many problems to our planet, I believe the government and its citizens can work together in reducing population size.