Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are distinct views about how companies should approach their applicants regarding personal information. Whereas some people claim that it is beneficial to know more about potential employees, others object to that view and argue that it is unnecessary. I tend to agree with the former because, from my point of view, it would be excellent if companies and workers share similar values. On the one hand, it is undeniable how crucial is to ask individuals about their beliefs before hiring since they will represent a business publicly. To illustrate, vegan start-ups look for employees who advocate in favor of animals. Furthermore, both professional and personal’s goals should be clear and aligned between managers and staff in order to avoid disappointments in the near future, as a maternity leave. On the other hand, it is widely known that there is a plethora of vacancies in which does not matter one’s intimacy. In the majority of cases, employers value more technical skills than particular preferences, such as accountant positions. Moreover, Human Resource departments are striving increasingly to hinder prejudices caused by private matters during an application process, which could be harmful to candidates. As far as I am concerned, it is undoubtedly that interviews are the most appropriate moment for recruiters to comprehend whether a specific candidate would adapt to the organizational culture. Consequently, they talk about a great number of private issues. In addition to that, applicants can share relevant matters which might impact their performance in the workplace. Take parents as an example. Considering that several mothers prefer not to travel for work, employers ask this personal detail during the meeting. To sum up, when it comes to work, although managers ought to be careful about private questions, I definitely think that they are indispensable. In my opinion, not only employees but also companies would be satisfied with the outcomes.