Do the dangers derived from the use of chemicals in food production and preservation outweigh the advantages?

It is argued by some that the preservation of food by chemicals is highly important, due to the fact it can help poor countries to supply food to their citizens in a stable manner. However, I disagree with that statement and think that the drawbacks of using chemicals in the food indusrty, such as the potential risk of cancer development, outweigh its benefits. Preservation of food is crucial for several countries around the world, where fresh food is scarce. In poor countries, a great number of people rely on preserved food for their regular diet, and using chemicals is a key feature in every preservation process. For example, in order to send food supplies to remote countries in Africa, an operation that can take up to few weeks, preservastion of the food that is being sent is mandatory. On the other hand, chemicals is known to cause certain medical conditions and even cancer. This is due to the fact that consumption of large amounts of chemicals can cause damaged Change the form of the verb damage show examples to the DNA material located in our body’s cells. Ceratin chemicals might cause mutations in the DNA and the consequnce consequences could be the development of cancer. For instance, a survey that compared the rate of cancer between two groups of people, one that consumed food that contained chemicals and another that ate only food without chemicals showed that the latter group demonstrated lower proportions of cancer throughout their lives. In conclusion, differing views on the use of chemicals in the food industry exists. I strongly believe that the disadvantages of using chemicals, which includes a higher risk of developing cancer, outweigh its advantages.