Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It has been a huge topic for debate among parents on how children should spend their free time or vacation time. Some parents are in favour of sending kids to organized group activities while others believe that children should be able to engage themselves on their own. In my opinion, both are equally important but being a part of group activities has more advantages. Nowadays, kids are spending a tremendous amount of time on mobile phones or computer games rather than going out and playing. Enrolling themselves in a class or an activity can be more productive and helpful in the overall growth of their young minds. For example, being a part of a music group or a cooking class can help them learn different things along with their studies. In addition, these activities can provide children with the opportunity of social interaction with other kids. However, personal hobbies like reading, playing a musical instrument, gardening should also be encouraged. These hobbies can teach pupils how to be occupied with themselves if they have to for some time. There are times when it is not possible to have social or group activity, for instance, in Covid era many children are forced to stay in their homes and this can be a good time to engage in activities like reading. Moreover, reading can also help with better grammar skills and can also encourage knowing about news and current affairs. In conclusion, although, occupying themselves on their own in activities like reading is beneficial, yet, having social interactions or learning new skills by being a part of group activities should be preferred for the better future of a younger generation.