Some people think that university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects useful in the future,such as those related to science and technology.Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Many people claim that every university graduate should focus on whatever draws their interest. Other people believe that they ought only to study subjects that will be handy to them in the future, such as maths and computer science. I am going to discuss the arguments of both sides and express my honest opinion on the matter. Firstly, I think it is important to underline that people perform better on learning something they are interested in rather than something mandatory and uninteresting. Additionally, something missing from graduates nowadays and is crucial for their well-being is a good variety of general knowledge. All knowledge will come in handy sooner or later and create a more open-minded and intellectual individual. For instance, many Science graduates nowadays may be experts on the occupation they have their degree in; however, they lack basic knowledge about what is happening globally, such as politics or economics, world and national history, geography, or how simple and everyday things work. On the other side of the spectrum, indeed, paying more attention to the subjects that will be relevant in your future occupation is most likely to be beneficial, and they provide a more guaranteed future. As a result, studying general and less relevant to your course subjects seems like a waste of time. To sum up, I can't entirely agree with both sides since both general and relevant to your course subjects will be beneficial in the future. I believe that university students should study a balanced proportion of both to maximize their intellectuality and well-being but also have a more guaranteed and successful career.