Private car ownership has grown dramatically in recent years. This has led to a rise in traffic congestion. What could government and individuals do to reduce congestion?

Nowadays, modern people have a tendency to purchase cars for daily usage and convenience purposes. Growing car ownership contributed to an increase in traffic congestion. In my perspective, both government and individuals should take the responsibility for managing the problem of blockage. As the global population is expected to rise sustainably, the issue needs urgent solutions.Limitation and control of automobiles on the road should be considered as the most effective approach to reducing the occurrence of jam. By separating private vehicles by their numbers and allowing the movement of only selected ones at a certain time and day, a government is capable to manage traffic congestion legislatively. For instance, the Japanese government decided to allow the cars with an odd registration number to move on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays, while owners of even numbers are allowed to use their properties the rest of the week in order to facilitate the roadblock. As a result, the problem of traffic congestion is more likely to be resolved. Another effective solution is enhancing the quality of public transport and subsidise its cost. As the main priority of private vehicles is convenience, improving the service of buses and trains will continue to reduce the effect of exacerbated situation and prevent a disproportionate number of machines. To conclude, as standards of living continue to rise, the issue is expected to worsen. Therefore, the listed ideas are considered potentially effective, however significant changes can occur only if countries’ individuals and the government will work on the practical part of the implementation by providing high-quality transport.