Some people believe that violence on television and in computer games has a damaging effect on the society. Others deny that these factors have any significant influence on people's behaviour. What is your opinion?

A number of persons believe that forceful attitude usually depicted in movies and video games has a negative impact on the population’s behaviour; however, some other people do not think it does. I believe that watching or playing violence on contemporary media has a significant negative effect on how people act. Analyzing that we believe what we see or hear and that society is a reflection of what its people are exposed to proves this. To begin with, young individuals usually agree more with and act based on what they see or hear. For instance, children who grew up in peaceful and hospitable environment tend to be more loving and accommodating compared to those that are raised in slums and ghettos. Unfortunately, most of the movies and games children are exposed to are those depicting violent characters and acts. Therefore, it is safe to say that watching forceful kind of shows or playing games with a violent display is likely to influence one’s character badly. Moreover, the way a society behaves reflects the kind of information it is exposed to. For example, it is known that societies in which information on sexual behaviour are readily available are likely to improve their sexual health than those in which the same information is concealed. So, when individuals are open to violent shows, they are likely to be deceived into believing that being forceful is the correct way of life. Justifiably, it could be deduced that “what an individual is exposed to may influence them”. To sum up, individuals are influenced by what they see or hear and the way a person behaves reflects what he or she is exposed to. I think that violence in contemporary media has a significant impact on the negative behaviour of the populace. With the advancement in technology, this trend is likely to continue.