Directors of large organizations earn much higher salaries than ordinary employees do. Some people think it is necessary, but others are of the opinion that it is unfair. Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

According to some people, the astronomical salaries of corporate executives are not justified especially since ordinary employees earn only a paltry sum. In my opinion, it is perfectly all right for management-level employees to earn higher remuneration. To commence with, higher officials of corporates enjoy a large pay scale for manifold reasons. First, people sitting on higher posts have to deal with several grave situations and they have to control such situations on a war footing. Here, their decision-making and intellectual level are tested for which they are paid enormously. Apart from this, people occupying executive posts have coveted degrees and invaluable experience. They often start as a junior-level employee and by virtue of their talent and hard work reach the top positions. Consequently, the company has to reward their contribution by offering them a fat paycheque. On the flip side, there are those who believe that employees who work day and night for a company and performing laborious jobs must be given an equivalent salary to directors. They assert that their efforts are unmatched and they are the backbone of the corporation / organization. Thus, they deserve to get higher remuneration comparable to those of managers and executives. Even so, I believe that although higher officials do not do a lot of manual work, they are always under stress as they have to manage the whole company and its staff judiciously. For this, they need to make error- free judgements and they are also completely accountable for any mistakes they make / any mistakes on their part. To recapitulate, I firmly reiterate that even though ordinary staff members perform a lot of laborious work, companies do not hold them accountable for their failure. Conversely, executives have to bear the brunt for all their decisions and that is why they are paid much higher than ordinary employees.