air traffic is increasingly leading to more noise, pollution, and airport constuction. One reason for this is the growth in low-cost passenger flights, often to holiday destinations. Some people say that government should try to reduce air traffic by taxing it more heavily. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays there is an ever-growing popularity in low-cost flight, which has led to an increase air traffic and consequently more noise, pollution and airport constuction. This essay completely agrees that governments should heavily tax flights companies, mainly because it will lower the demand for flights and may motivate airways companies to reduce the pollution their planes create. First and foremost, heavy taxes will result in a smaller number of flights, which could lead to less traffic and pollution. This is simply because the consequence of high taxes will be a rise in the ticket price, and therefore a reduced number of individuals will be able to purchase flying tickets and will probably choose an alternative way of transportation. For example, a standard European family can nowadays fly to almost any destination inside Europe for less than 100 euros, and if that price will increase due to heavy taxes, this family may prefer to take the train instead of flying in order to reach its destination. Secondly, heavy taxes may encourage the airways companies to find ways to reduce the pollution their planes create. There are various technological solutions to lower the amount of pollution aircrafts produce, and these companies might invest more money in order to eliminate pollution, if the right incentive is created, such as the opportunity to avoid high taxes. For instance, if goverments government will declare that flights companies can avoid high taxes if they can prove that their planes are less polluting, it can persuade them to invest in that direction. In conclusion, I strongly believe that a higher tax on air traffic could result in less pollution and noise, due to the potential smaller number of flights and an improved level of pollution by airplanes.