Some countries are handing over public services such as hospitals, railways and education to private companies to be run for commercial profit. Are governments justified in letting private profit manage the public interest?

Privatization is the transfer of government functions to the private sector.In this era, privatization has become common and many governments privatizing some public sectors to make them more efficient.Personally,I am in the favour of privatization but we also have to see the other side of the coin. Furthermore, privatization can produce better results and can work more efficiently & it can benefit society. For instance, the last survey in Pakistan proved that the death rate is minimum in private hospitals as compared to government hospitals. Moreover, privatization can prevent political influence in some government sectors, non eligible staff are hired due to corruption and bribe. Such type of staff act as white elephant and they do not perform their duties and responsibilities. For example, a report in the USA illustrates that by privatizing the driver licence centre, the number of accidents declined in a year. On the other hand,sometimes privatization does not produce a fruitful result.The private sector can increase the prices on their own which can't be challenged and it can act as a burden on ordinary people which will not end well. For,instance once in Russia transport sector was privatized and after,that they have to shut it down in a year because of high prices. To recapitulate, the progress of any country privatization can contribute a great role only where it is necessary.