Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times even on holidays. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

A strong connection between reporting managers and their subordinates is essential for the effective working of a business. Some bosses are, however, so demanding that they want their juniors to be always available for them even during vacations. Despite quick results in the initial days, its demerits for employees, which are no time for organizing their tasks or for their family, supersede the above merit. First, the above trend, indubitably, results in the faster completion of jobs. This is because the company heads do not have to wait for the start of the working hours of their juniors; therefore, with low response time, such organizations usually attract more clients, too. To exemplify, according to Forbes, in January 2021, had Apple not permitted their top management to call their staff at any time, their speed of delivering projects would not have doubled in February month. However, soon after, the workers start failing to keep their work structured. Since there is no fixed time for listening to the bosses, they face difficulty in allocating a fixed time to their various pending and new tasks piling up throughout the day, thus, leading to their low productivity and customer dissatisfaction from the same. In a study, for instance, it was found that breaks in work- time assist 90% of the employees in managing their work well. Besides the unstructured professional life, their family life suffers. With their brain occupied with the fear of getting an assignment from their boss even in their off-hours or non-working days, they fail to be attentive to their family’s needs. Slowly and steadily, the gaps widen, making the workers’ lives stressful, whose consequences are also visible in their behaviour towards the clients. In conclusion, in front of the short time benefit of an increased pace of getting work done, the long term ramifications of staff’s unorganized work-life and weak family relations are far more for the companies allowing their senior management to contact juniors at any time.