Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problems does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Nowadays, many international corporations have expanded their markets globally and people can easier purchase famous products at different countries. However, some locals concern that the popularity of these global brands has brought setbacks to domestic businesses. In the following essays, I will discuss about the potential problems and how to resolve these issues. It is true that multinational organizations have spent enormous amount of budget for promoting their products globally with very competitive price. As a result, they have gained trust and loyalty from many customers, which has created economic pressures on multiple domestic companies. Hence, local brands have to find creative strategies to enhance local consumption or they will be removed from this competitive market. Addtionally, population may loose the diversity of they only purchase commodities from well-known companies. For example, it is feasible to spot a surge of youngsters wearing similar products from H&M or Zara on the street. On the other hand, local authorities should play a key role in boosting the consumption of traditional goods. At first, governments can support hand-made businesses through funding packages with low interest, which will help them reduce financial pressure and give room for creativity. Moreover, it is feasible to organize outdoor markets where local shops can promote their goods to tourists. Through media, governments can deliver meaningful messages about the benefits of using local products to their citizens. Japan is a typical example as Japanese often prioritizes Japanese gadgets which boosts their economic significantly. To sum up, fiercely rivalry with multinational businesses have threatened the survial of traditional manufacturers, governments should take appropriate measures to maintain their national identities.