Some people think that food is one of the most fundamental economic products and should be mostly produced by each country for its own consumption, with only minimal export of products to other countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your own opinion and relevant examples.

A growing number of people believe that basic necessities, such as food, should be produced domestically and the government should limit the number of exported products to the other countries across the globe. I completely disagree with this view because it would lead to lower state revenue and present less experience to taste a myriad of dishes from other countries. First and foremost, minimizing export of basic products may harm the revenue generated by the government. By and large, export is considered as the most common intervention made by the government in collecting income, which is vital to fund the public's needs. Perhaps an outstanding example of this is the health facilities in Indonesia. In fact, one third of the state revenue is allocated to provide healthcare insurance for the poor and build facilities such as clinics in remote areas. Hence, if the government reduces the flow of international trades, the need would eventually suffer because of poor health facilities. Another noticeable reason why I believe limiting export activities is not a good option is that it would make people have less experience to taste a countless number of special foods across the world. It is often said that by marketing domestic products to international buyers, people could consume a plethora of unique dishes from other countries. Take ramen as an example. Obviously, by selling this dish outside Japan, people could taste its’ unique textures, spices and herbs, which cannot be found in their home countries. Consequently, people would have more experiences in tasting international cuisines. To sum up, in my view, reducing global trade on basic needs could significantly reduce the state revenue and present less global cuisine experience. Unless the government creates a balance between domestic consumption and export activities, it is unlikely to provide proper public facilities and allow local citizens to experience a novel taste of food.