Question: Traffic congestion in many cities in the world makes it difficult for people to get in and out of cities, and to move around inside them. Why do you think this is happening? What could be done to solve these problems?

Traffic jams make the movement from one place to another difficult in many cities around the world. Among the major reasons are an increasing number of cars and car accidents on the roads. Fortunately, the mentioned problems can be solved by encouraging citizens to use public transport and reducing the demand for cars. Excessive usage of vehicles is one of the reasons for issues on the roads. It is estimated that modern cities cannot handle the rising number of car owners forcing the governments to reconsider the road system. The more vehicles on the roads, the less space for movement. Furthermore, car accidents are another reason for congestion. Moreover, they tend to appear on the main streets where a lot of beginners usually make mistakes as they do not possess the necessary experience. For instance, in the UK, the area next to Big Ben is where accidents take place almost every day due to the high traffic. However, there is a couple of ways to solve these issues. Firstly, the governments should increase the taxes for car owners and increase the price of oil on gas stations. This is highly likely to decrease the demand and make cars less available for people. Secondly, citizens should be encouraged to use public transport such as buses, trains, etc. Not only will it solve the problems with traffic jams but also it can reduce the amount of gas emission improving the quality of air. In conclusion, traffic congestion in many cities happens because of an increasing number of automobiles and accidents on the roads. Among the possible solutions are making cars less attractive by increasing taxes and encouraging people to switch on public transport.