It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion. What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Education plays a pivotal role in children ’s lives; however, education should not be restricted to academic lessons but also to behavioural aspects. It is essential for children to understand the distinction between good and bad at a tender age. For this, parents and teachers should punish children to make them understand the difference. I firmly agree with the above notion as it would benefit society as a whole. The punishment should be psychological and practical rather than physical. The first and foremost reason for punishing the child for wrongdoings is that it will have a positive impact on the child’s attitude such as he will not repeat the same act and learn the effect of that wrong action. Furthermore, children would become more disciplined and generous. The second reason is that, if children are given valuable lessons in their childhood, then it would be easy for them to learn moral values. Consequently, those children would not be inclined to choose the wrong path when they become adolescents. To cite an instance, a survey was conducted by research scholars of Oxford University in which it was found that students who were given punishment in the school did not indulge in crime when they became adult. However, the ways in which children are punished plays a vital role in the improvement of their behaviour. Guardians and tutors should never use physical punishment because it may have a detrimental effect on the children. Instead of physical punishment parents can prevent them from watching a movie or stop buying some toy for them. There are some other constructive ways of punishment. For example, in,Japan many schools has followed this method of asking the children to plant trees when they do something wrong. In this,way punishments are favourable for the children and society too In conclusion, it is crucial for toddlers to learn to distinguish between good and bad deeds and I think the punishment is the most effective way to teach the children valuable lesson; however, this punishment should not be physical rather it should be psychological and practical.