Prevention is better than cure. Out of a country’s health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventative measures. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is more beneficial to prevent the damage from happening than it is to combat the results. Same goes with the healthcare. Thusly, some argue that the majority of the health-related budget should be spent on assuring the former rather than the latter. In this essay, both ends of this discussion will be explained and I will share my ideas as to why an equal percentage should be spared for both. Some assume that a bigger portion of the pie should be assigned to the preventative measures and educating the public. Millions of people seek medical help due to preventable causes. Trauma patients, for instance, suffer from endless medical treatment and are confined to a life that is more limited than before. Thus, this statement is reasonable, yet, it ignores the other side of the equation. Diverting a large portion would cause several problems for the healthcare as there are health issues, still, that cannot be prevented. For example, no measurement could stop a volvulus from twisting. In addition, not all risk factors could be eliminated, aging for example. In the case of a valvular disease, even when all the precautions are taken, patients would still have the disease - maybe at a later time in life. This would harden the process of treatment as comorbidities also increase with age. Aside from that, decrease in budgeting would also decrease the number of research done in the area. Pharmaceutical companies would not develop new technologies and orphan drugs would be the only chance of the patient. In summary, burden would be put on sick people's tired shoulders. All in all, health is inseperable from its components. More significance than it is given today should be given to the prevention. That said, curing side should not be left to dust. Equally improving both is the only answer.