Some people think that we can use as much fresh water as we want. Others think that fresh water supply should be controlled strictly by governments as the sources are limited. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The Earth is ninety per cent surrounded by water, still, only one-fourth of it can be used for human consumption. For years, there has been an ongoing debate between people who believe this limited supply of fresh water should be managed by the authorities while others argue that the use of such natural resource should be not restricted. In this essay,we will consider both the aspects and finally I will present my opinion. Firstly, considering freshwater as a natural resource it can be said that every human has an equal right to utilize it as per his requirement. Moreover, the control totally given to the authorities may lead to some corrupt practices. For instance, The officials in Assam, a state in India were suspended for supplying fresh water to various soft drink companies for profit. There have been also cases where rich metropolitan are supplied more freshwater than their neighbouring villages. On the other hand, though it is argued that natural resources should be free, it definitely needs to be managed especially when it is scarce. Controlled water supply will avoid people from misusing it, aslo this unused water can be supplied to countries with poverty and lack water reservoirs. For example, thousands of families face water shortage in northern Africa due to the climatic conditions and millions of deaths due to a shortage of basic human needs. Speaking about corruption, it is unavoidable in any country for that matter. The governing boards should improve their anti-corruption bureau for avoiding corruption scams by some authorities. In Conclusion, I would agree that important and basic resource such as freshwater should be controlled by the governments so that they can provide other poor nations as well as educate their own people to use it wisely.