It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion. What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

The children must know the difference between right and wrong during their childhood and for that, punishment can be helpful. I agree with this viewpoint but also believe that the severity of punishments must be taken into consideration. Every parent wants children who behave appropriately and understands the difference between doing right and wrong. It is significant to teach them about this distinction in their early childhood days because they will learn the most important lessons then and avoid doing any wrong act later in their future life. For instance, if a student steals his classmate's pencil, the teacher must ensure to tell him about his wrongdoing and he will make sure not to repeat the same thing in the future as he will remember the embarrassment faced in front of his class. Therefore, making offsprings distinguish between good and bad in adolescence is of utmost importance. However, I think that it is not necessary to give harsh punishments to the kids when they commit mistakes. Punishments can be less severe such as parents refusing to buy favourite toys or gifts for occasions. They can also deny the kids an outing or picnic. On the other hand, teachers can restrict students from playing during their sports period, which will be a good reminder for them not to do anything wrong. In conclusion, children ought to learn what is right or wrong. Parents and teachers can punish them to make sure they follow the right path as they are the future of our society.