It is generally accepted that families are not as close as they used to be. Give some reasons why this change has happened and suggest how families could be brought closer. Include any relevant examples from your experience.

Nowadays, family members are not as close as they were in the past. Two probable explanations for this are the tendency of many parents to prioritize work over their children, and the fact that the social backgrounds in which adults grew up are drastically different from those kids are experiencing. To tackle this issue, family members should set a daily "together" time and arrange regular family trips during which everyone focuses on one another. Workaholic parents and social differences during childhood are major reasons causing family bonds to be worse than they used to be. Currently, it is common for both the mother and father to have a full- time job that occupies most of their time and energy. As a result, their children barely receive any affection beyond basic needs such as food and shelter, making it difficult for any meaningful connection to form. Regarding the aforementioned dissimilarities in social circumstances, these are more significant than they have ever been as technology is advancing at an unprecedented pace, meaning that understanding between generations is very fragile. For example, while most Vietnamese children enjoy a comfortable life, their parents are haunted by the hunger following the Vietnam War. Thus, instead of encouraging their kids to discover their interests, Vietnamese adults tend to direct them into "secure" career paths such as being a doctor or lawyer; this is a common conflict in Vietnamese families. In summary, the superficiality of family connections is a result of overworking parents and the variations in the social background across time. One possible solution for this problem is to set a daily family time. Although every member might not manage to gather for long every day, it is important that parents and children catch up and keep track of each other's circumstances. Knowing how the others are getting on create topics for conversation as well as chances to give a helping hand, which means that interpersonal relationship will eventually improve. Another possible solution is to occasionally arrange family vacations. Being in a different place will not only allow more time for bonding but also create space for self-reflection; both of these are quite helpful in bringing families closer together. For example, parents and children can engage in a game of volleyball and enjoy an evening barbecue by the beach to strengthen their relationships. In short, to remedy connections between family members, a routinely "together" time and family holidays can be very fruitful. In conclusion, the emotional distance between parents and children is a result of workaholic adults and social changes in the past decades. To bring families closer together, an everyday family time should be set and regular family trips arranged.