Unemployment remains the biggest challenge to school-leavers in most countries. How far do you agree with this assessment? What other challenges face young people today?

Joblessness has continued to be the most persisting problem for school graduates in many nations of the world. This is an accurate evaluation of the situation plaguing youngsters who are entering the workforce, in my opinion. They have several other obstacles to overcome too, not the least of which is an incongruence between their college learning and the skillsets required by job providers. This essay will explain the extent of my agreement with the stated problem and it will also enumerate a couple of other issues that are rearing up in the face of today’s youth. Firstly, in recent years, there’s been a population explosion in the world because of: largely peaceful relations between nations; lower death rates; and growing economic health because of globalization. As a result, in the last couple of decades, we have reached a point where the number of graduates each year outnumbers the jobs available in the market. For example, studies have shown this to be true particularly in developing nations Additionally, faulty economic policies in the late nineties, the current pandemic situation, etc. are contributing to the slowdown of the financial growth for most countries. Consequently, employees have been experiencing pay cuts, new hires are fewer and are having to settle for lesser salaries. For instance, there are reports of retrenchment of at least 20% of the workforce across the companies globally along with a 20% cuts in the pay of those who are not laid off. Hence, while finding employment after graduation is becoming an uphill task, landing a well-paid one is becoming a pipe-dream. All in all, it is hard for school-leaving youngsters to be gainfully employed. Moreover, current college courses don’t equip students to become productive from day one in their new jobs. For example, even a small scale enterprise puts them through an apprenticeship period for retraining purposes, before appointing them to a responsible position. To add to their woes of not finding lucrative jobs, most students are in debt the moment they leave school because of education loans that they have borrowed to complete their degrees. Research shows that more than 50% of students opting for higher education, do so with the aid of student loans. These are just a couple of several other trials being faced by educated unemployed. To conclude, scholars who have finished studying and are looking for work are facing many challenges and the most prominent of them is the unavailability of employment opportunities. Population explosion, imbalance of work availability and magnitude of graduating individuals, pay cuts in view slowing economic growth, inadequate skilling, heavy student loans are a few of the factors that have led to the compounding of issues. These things can have a detrimental impact on their career and their mental balance. Hence, measures need to be taken by governments, academic authorities and parents to overcome the limitations that the young generation is facing nowadays.